BIOSS
Centre for Biological Signalling Studies

Group Members

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schamel

Head of the department

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67511

wolfgang.schamel@
biologie.uni-freiburg.de

 

I am a basic scientist from heart, following my curiosity to uncover the molecular mechanisms that control the functioning of the immune system.

Discussing new discoveries with my co-workers and teaching at the university, are the activities I like most.

My CV can be found here.

Angelika Reichinger

Secretary

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67509

angelika.reichinger@bioss.uni-freiburg.de

   
 

Kerstin Fehrenbach

Technical Assistant

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67526

kerstin.fehrenbach@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

   

 

Prof. Dr. Marina Freudenberg

Guest Professor

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67510

marina.freudenberg@uniklinik-freiburg.de

 

The research of MF is concerned with the interaction of microbial components, especially lipopolysaccharide of Gram-negative bacteria (endotoxin, LPS), with macrophages and other cells of the innate immune system.

 

Dr. Emmanuelle Moraes

Postdoc

emmanuelle.moraes@bioss.uni-freiburg.de

 

Claudia Juraske

PhD student

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67524

claudia.juraske@biologie.uni-freiburg.de


 

My fascination for biology evolved already during my school days and I started my scientific career in Karlsruhe at the KIT. However, I realized that the biotechnological orientation of the university did >not fit to my scientific interest and I moved to the University of Freiburg for my Master’s degree with the aim of studying immunology. I have been amazed by the complexity of the immune system, and especially T cells caught my attention. Currently I am conducting my PhD where my main focus of interest is to unravel how modular organisation, biogenesis and complexome formation control the activity of the T cell receptor. Furthermore, I am working with primary human γδ T cells in the context of tumor immunotherapy.

Vincent Idstein

PhD student

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67518

vincent.idstein@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

   

Anna Ehret

PhD student

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67517

anna.ehret@bioss.uni-freiburg.de

 

I am fascinated how cells communicate and interact, how tiniest changes can have an enormous impact on cell’s progression. To study this interplay, immunology is the perfect science. A powerful method to mimic interactions of cells in vivo is the field of optogenetics. Therefore, I am very grateful to be a member of this group as all my research interests are combined surrounded by a familiar working atmosphere. Currently I am working on the phosphorylation status of proteins in early T cell signalling using an optogenetic system.

    Trang Nguyen

    PhD student

    Tel:     +49 761 203 67521

    trang.nguyen@bioss.uni-freiburg.de

 


 

 

    Sara Hartmann

    PhD student

   

 


 

 

 

    Salima Kibrom

    MSc student