BIOSS
Centre for Biological Signalling Studies

Group Members

Prof. Dr. Susana Minguet

Group leader

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-97663

susana.minguet@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

  Since I first heard from the Immune system back in the school, I have been amazed by its complexity and beauty. I have developed my career between Spain and Germany, I am a passionate scientist who loves teaching, discussing and our daily intellectual challenges.

 

 

   Dorothee Bleckmann

   Lab Manager

   Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67496

   dorothee.bleckmann@biologie.uni-freiburg.de

 

 

Dr. María Alejandra Parigiani

Postdoc

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-97229

maria.parigiani@bioss.uni-freiburg.de

 I am fascinated by cell transformation and the endless capacity of cancer cells to survive and thrive in foreign tissues and under hostile conditions. Being intensively investigated in many cancer entities, T cell-based adoptive cell therapies constitute one of the most promising approaches to kill cancer cells. Thus, understanding how oncogenic signaling contributes to the immunosuppressive environment within tumors has become pivotal to cancer immunotherapy´s success.

Dr. Anna Maria Schaffer

Postdoc

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67497

anna-maria.schaffer@uniklinik-freiburg.de


 

 My scientific orientation has been set during my master’s thesis as I got a first small insight into the complexity of our immune system – and ever since it captured my interest. Interference with just one molecule might disrupt its function completely.

As Freiburg is known for its strong focus on Immunobiology, I moved here to further enlarge our knowledge of how B lymphocyte signalling – my favourite immune cell type – regulates the development of functional cells and enables effective immune responses.

Dr. Valeria Melendez

Postdoc

valeria.melendez@sgbm.uni-freiburg.de


 
 

Dr. Gina Fiala

Postdoc

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67486

gina.fiala@biologie.uni-freiburg.de


 
 

Nadine Wössner

PhD student

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67486

nadine.woessner@sgbm.uni-freiburg.de


 

Since my Bachelor studies I am interested in immunology, especially molecular and clinical immunology. Currently, I am performing my PhD project within the framework of the excellence cluster CIBSS and the interdisciplinary graduate school SGBM. My main focus of interest are the early events of TCR signaling, in particular I am studying a newly identified motif (RK motif) in the TCR CD3ε chain which is able to recruit the kinase Lck. This interaction is very important to initiate TCR signaling and thereby T cell activation.

   Simon Brandl

   PhD student

   Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67521

   simon.brandl@sgbm.uni-freiburg.de


 

 

Marina Zintchenko

PhD Student

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67497

marina.zintchenko@biologie.uni-freiburg.de


 

I have studied Biology because of my love for nature. During my studies I was fascinated by the complexity of the immune system. That is why I put my main focus of interest in my Masters on immunology! In my master thesis I worked on the topic of cancer immunotherapy investigating novel chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cells for the treatment of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia. I am right now continue working on the project as a research assistant.

 Annabelle Buschky

 PhD Student

Tel:   +49-(0)761-203-67496

annabelle.buschky@sgbm.uni-freiburg.de

  


 
 
 

   Ingo Holtz

   Master student