Cluster of Excellence –
University of Freiburg

Most successfull writer

The neuroscientist Marco Prinz receives again the BIOSS award for writing the most high-impact publications in scientific journals
Prof. Dr. Marco Prinz with the "Writer´s Award". Photo: Silvia Blust-Maciej

The award presented by the University of Freiburg´s Cluster of Excellence BIOSS Centre for Biological Signalling Studies for the most successful writer in 2016 goes again to Prof. Dr. Marco Prinz, Medical Director of the Institute of Neuropathology at the University Medical Center Freiburg and associated member of BIOSS. In 2016, Prinz published more than scientific 20 papers, many of them in high impact journals as Nature Immunology, Nature Medicine, Nature Review Drug Discovery, Immunity and Cell. It is the fourth year in row that Prinz receives the writer´s award.

Prinz’s prime area of research is the role of the immune system in neurodegenerative diseases and diseases like multiple sclerosis. For example, in an article published in the journal Nature Neuroscience in June 2015, Prinz and his team demonstrated that the metabolites of gut bacteria control the function of microglia, which are phagocytes that eliminate invading pathogens in the brain and also fight tumour cells. Malfunctioning microglia cells play a role in brain diseases like Alzheimer’s and multiple sclerosis. Prinz’s research results thus demonstrate that an intact immune system of the brain depends on having healthy intestinal flora.

Every year, BIOSS honours a member of the cluster who has generated the most bonus funds according its system Performance Oriented Grants Option, (BIOSS POGO). All members of the cluster who publish the results of their BIOSS-supported research in scientific journals are entitled to apply for bonus funds. The amount of POGO is based on the impact factor of each journal and researchers’ level of participation, meaning whether they were the first or last author or a co-author. BIOSS introduced this system for bonus funds in 2010. The winner of the "Writer” award in 2010 was Prof. Dr. Michael Reth, followed by Prof. Dr. Oliver Einsle in 2011 and Prof. Dr. Wilfried Weber in 2012. According to the amount of POGO, Marco Prinz was the most successful writer at BIOSS in 2013, 2014, 2015 and now again in 2016. Winners receive a wooden “Writer” (Schreiber) sculpture, which was designed by Prof. Dr. Hans G. Kleinig.


All BIOSS publications in 2016:


For more on Marco Prinz, his research group and research focus, see:


Marco Prinz’s CV:


Article about Marco Prinz and his work, published in the Freiburg research magazine uni’wissen: