Cluster of Excellence –
University of Freiburg

Honorary Medal for Professor Michael Reth

The molecular immunologist Professor Dr. Michael Reth of the Excellence cluster Centre for Biological Signalling Studies (BIOSS) of the Universityof Freiburg and group leader at the MPI-IE in Freiburg will receive the Honorary Medal 2017 of the Signal Transduction Society (STS).

The medal will be awarded at the STS 21rst annual meeting on November 9th in Weimar, Germany, for his pioneering work on the structure and signaling function of the B cell antigen receptor. He has proposed a new model of B cell activation and developed techniques for a better analysis of the nanoscale organization of receptors on the B cell surface.

The STS  ( was founded in 1998 as a joint endeavor by the chairs of signaling study groups of the German Societies for Immunology (DGFI) and Cell Biology (DGZ) and the Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (GBM) to promote the interdisciplinary exchange between scientists of various fields. Since 2010 it awards the Honorary Medal to outstanding scientists for achievements in deciphering signaling processes in normal and transformed cells. Honorary Medal awardees were e.g. Professor Tony Pawson (Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Canada, 2010), Professor Tony Hunter (Salk Institute, La Jolla, USA, 2011) and Professor Carl-Hendrik Hedlin (Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Uppsala, Sweden, 2012).

In 2014 Professor Reth received the Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize and in 2015 the Jürgen Manchot research professorship for experimental infection medicine.



Christine Ehler
BIOSS Centre for Biological Signalling Studies
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Schänzlestr. 18
79104 Freiburg